The Factbox-Who voted for McCarthy and against him in the U.S. House of Representatives?

U.S. House
© Reuters. FILE PHOTO: U.S. Rep. Scott Perry (R-PA) is flanked by U.S. Representatives' Lauren Boebert (R-CO) and Matt Gaetz (R-FL) as he talks to reporters following a House GOP Caucus meeting on the first day of the 118th Congress at the U.S. Capitol in Washington

Kevin McCarthy, a Republican, received a big boost in his bid to become the speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives after 15 staunch opponents changed their minds on Friday, citing a deal on rules changes.

The most prominent critics and their current positions are:

Dan Bishop – FLIPPED

Bishop, a former attorney for the North Carolina District, said he was pleased with “substantial progress” in improving “the allocation of conservative votes to important committees.” returned to


Josh Breechin – FLIPPED

A freshman from Oklahoma visited McCarthy on Friday afternoon and said it would “allow the Conservatives to curb runaway spending.”

Andrew Clyde – FLIPPED

Clyde of Georgia is a member of the far-right House Liberal caucus that is pushing against McCarthy. On Friday, he made a move to endorse McCarthy.

Michael Cloud – FLIPPED

The Crowd of Texas admitted on Thursday that the speakership race “looks like a mess” to local voters. On Friday, he was happy with the frame and voted for McCarthy.


The Florida congressman serving his second term, who opposed the 2020 election results in one of his first votes in the House, came out of the shadows this week when he earned about 20 votes in the race for speaker.

He is the only member of the hardliners’ group to have switched his vote from supporting McCarthy on the third ballot to opposing him on the twelfth.


McCarthy gave money to help the Florida congressman win her first term in November, but she hesitated to endorse him until Friday.


Since 2011, Harris has been a district representative for Maryland. It will be the biggest transformation in how the House runs and will become much more responsive to the American people, he declared on Twitter on Friday. “If the agreement we were able to finalise over the last few days is adopted,” he said.

McCarthy faced off against the Arizona attorney in the initial speaker election. He was one of the politicians who vigorously backed Trump’s bogus assertions that Democratic President Joe Biden’s victory against him in the 2020 election was the product of fraud. I’m not leaving, he tweeted on Friday afternoon.


In the 2022 election for his seat in Arizona, Crane defeated a longstanding Democratic congressman. He continues to oppose McCarthy.


Gaetz, one of McCarthy’s most outspoken detractors, is a close ally of Trump. He has made the untrue assertion that far-left radicals were behind the attack on the US Capitol on January 6, 2021. He was also one of the top caucus fundraisers, bringing in more than $6 million for his reelection campaign.


Good, a fervently pious social conservative who represents a mostly rural district in western Virginia, is one of the representatives who has declared they will never vote for McCarthy.


The sole representative from Montana has consistently voted against McCarthy and in favour of fellow Republican Kevin Hern.